Free yourself from reality, blur your fantasy, immerse in pleasant thoughts, awake to your hopes and ambitions, and discover the world you’ve always imagined.

Final Portfolio

In my first blog, I stated I wanted my writing “ to refrain from the structure of essays taught in my previous education, and focus on creating smoothly flowing trains of thought that make my composition a coherent ‘whole,’ where the beginning invites the reader in and carries them along a journey to end with my final sentence.” And I’m glad to say this course allowed me to move forward in this direction.

Let the glow of the sun and shimmer of the stars carry you to find yourself.

Let the glow of the sun and shimmer of the stars carry you to find yourself.

Along the way I learned this course is grounded in rhetorical theory, and it has taught me to work on the craft of writing in a way that will translate into more effective compositions in other classes and in the world outside of the classroom. The theme of writing the mind was not just writing about the mind, it was writing from the mind. Throughout this semester, I learned how to  achieve clarity within my writing to enlighten my audience with my propositions and conclusions and ultimately make a rememberable impression on readers. With each proceeding project, I was able to discover more inspiration in my writing and achieve expertise with communicating my thoughts in my mind exactly as presented in the text within this blog.

Reflection and evidence of my development as a writer can be expressed through my assignments for this course.  In my second blog, analyzing the “Letter from Birmingham Jail” by Martin Luther taught me about the power of the self in rhetorical writing, and how to distinguish one’s essential being from the nature of others through expression of one’s own interests, hopes, dreams, and ambitions. I developed into more effective rhetoric writer when I realized my essence in my writing should address various constraints that shape my response depend on several factors, such as, the people, events, and objects associated with the power to shape decision through my words. In my third blog post, I learned not only what I stood for but how to stand for what’s important to me. Writing this blog entry taught me how to add emotion and enthusiasm in my writing, and looking back at this post I have more passion expressed in my writings.

In regards to other interests invoked from theories of rhetoric and the mind, I have nurtured an attentiveness on how to engage in inquiry and complete research on various topics. In my fourth blog post, I examined the the movie Being John Malkovich by Charlie Kaufman. This was the one assignment that raised the most interesting questions about the mind. I was intrigued and wanted to learn more about the influence of others, so I wrote about how Carl Jung proposed concepts of the collective unconscious, and also read into the impact of archetypes. Additionally, I attempted understood the mind in a more specific view of psychology, philosophy by exploring Sigmund Freud’s writings to understand the relationship between the unconscious and conscious mind. By these various theories of the mind, I also considered an interest in theories of rhetoric. For instance, I pondered on how to become creative with my writings to express my process of inquiry. I fabricated the perfect rhetoric, such that instead of connecting the film to concepts of the mind, I drew connections between concepts of the mind and related them to the film. I thought this approach did not limit my connection between theory/critical sources and the film, but rather expanded my thinking “outside the box” to discover new correlations between the film and theory that were not discussed in the previous class periods.

freuds_model

This course emphasized the relationship between rhetoric and the mind in various aspects. One aspect was the interaction between both. My fifth blog post utilized this aspect to connect concepts of the mind to literature and film in an effort to become better a rhetorician when writing about the mind.  I not only raised intriguing questions about the concepts of the mind but captured my research process as I explored psychology and attempt to discover answers to my curiosity in prezi I created. After completing this project, I realized rhetoric and the mind go hand in hand. In particular, I can not express what conclusions I have gathered in my mind without exercising rhetoric to help others grasp my notions.

In general, this course has helped my become a better writer, and Lloyd Bitzer would express I was able to alter the reality of my readers. My sixth blog post describes my self-reflection on the process of inquiry that allowed me to reflect on the endeavors and attainment I confronted during my research process. As with this project and the other assignments this semester, I became inspired and wanted to grow and expand my curiosity by undertaking additional research projects with a rhetorical approach. I only hope my audience was able to get in touch with this curiosity and understand the passion I attempted to manifest in my writings.

Beyond this course, I plan to purse several interests in these genres pertaining to the mind. My eighth blog post explored Freud and Jung interprets dreams, which inspired me to assign meaning to all my dreams through their dream analysis. My ninth blog post went beyond The Collector by John Fowles to not only analyze the story but immerse myself in the novel. From this assignment, my perspective has been widen and I plan gain knowledge across subjects ranging from the broader context of intertextuality to a narrower view on the structure of literary works I read in the future.

images

Writing the Mind is a course that assisted me with distinguishing the components of the mind not only on paper, but actually within myself.  Additionally, the professor of this course prepared and guided me through a journey to arrive at my goals. This course prompted me to reach my goals by bridging the gap between what I am truly thinking and what I am conveying on paper.  Moreover, I can now construct my “voice” to resemble a more thoughtful and imaginative character, whom recreates daydreams as if they are reality.

images-1

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

